Republic Essay Competition 2018

The Republic Essay Competition is designed to recognise and reward talented young writers. The ARM aims to encourage future leaders to reflect on Australian civics and citizenship.

Year 10, 11 and 12 students in Australian secondary schools were invited to submit an essay on the following topic:

"Young Australians Deserve To Have A Say On An Australian Head Of State"

We were overwhelmed by the calibre of entries and congratulate all students who entered.

We are delighted to announce that the winner is Gihansa Samarawickrema, a Year 11 student at Hume Anglican Grammar School in Victoria. Gihansa wins $1000 her essay has been published by Fairfax Media - read it here.

Second place winner is Orla Latawski of Perth Modern School WA and her prize is $700. Third place winner is Sophie Macdonald of the Hunter School of the Performing Arts in NSW, Sophie receives $300.

Thanks to Darlo Higher Education and a private donor for sponsoring the competition in 2018.

Full shortlist

Milie Gillard

Kupakwashe Matangira

Emma Tam

Hamish Brett

Bethany Herbert

Matthew Jankowski

Edward Krutsch

Thank you to all entrants.

2019 Competition

Details will be announced.